Amardesh Online......................

Facebook Big Smiley

Divisions: Barisal | Chittagong | Dhaka | Khulna | Rajshahi | Rangpur | Sylhet
Districts in Rajshahi: Bogra | Joypurhat | Naogaon | Natore | Chapai Nawabganj | Pabna | Rajshahi | Sirajganj

Bogra District Information

Area2919.9 square kilometers.
Bounded by
Joypurhat and Gaibandha districts on the north, the chalan beel, Natore and Sirajganj districts on the south, jamuna river and Jamalpur district on the east, Part of Chalan Beel, Naogaon and Natore districts on the west.
Bogra district was established in 1821 consisting of 9 thanas, of which four from Rajshahi district (Adamdighi, Bogra, Sherpur, Nawkhila), 3 from Dinajpur district (Lalbazar, Badalgachhi, Khetlal), and two from Rangpur district (Gobindaganj, Dewanganj). In 1983 Bogra district was divided into two districts (Bogra and Joypurhat). Bogra district consists of 5 municipalities, 48 wards, 166 mahallas, 11 upazilas, 109 union parishads, 1782 mouzas and 2706 villages.
Upazilla/ Thana
Adamdighi Upazila, Bogra Sadar Upazila, Dhunat Upazila, Dupchanchia Upazila, Gabtali Upazila, Kahaloo Upazila, Nandigram Upazila, Sariakandi Upazila, Sherpur Upazila, Shibganj Upazila, Sonatola Upazila

Post Codes for Bogra District

Elected MP(s) in 2008 Election
Area# Area NameElected MPFrom
36Bogra-1Abdul MannanBangladesh Awami League
37Bogra-2A. K. M Hafijur RahmanBangladesh Nationalist Party
38Bogra-3Abdul Momen TalukderBangladesh Nationalist Party
39Bogra-4Z. I. M. Mostofa AliBangladesh Nationalist Party
40Bogra-5Md. Habibar RahmanBangladesh Awami League
41Bogra-6Begum Khaleda ZiaBangladesh Nationalist Party
42Bogra-7Begum Khaleda ZiaBangladesh Nationalist Party
Parliament Election Winner (Party-wise): 2001,1996,1991
Seat#Area Name200119961991
36Bogra-1BNP (61.11)BNP (63.22)BNP (46.34)
37Bogra-2BNP (63.77)BNP (51.58)JI (33.97)
38Bogra-3BNP (52.45)BNP (43.76)BNP (34.23)
39Bogra-4BNP (58.73)BNP (42.77)BNP (35.99)
40Bogra-5BNP (55.49)BNP (50.18)BNP (39.91)
41Bogra-6BNP (78.56)BNP (58.89)BNP (54.67)
42Bogra-7BNP (78.95)BNP (72.08)BNP (66.88)
BAL: Bangladesh Awami League
BNP: Bangladesh Nationalist Party
JI: Jamat E Islami
JP: Jatiya Party
Mahasthangarh (pundranagara), located 10 km to the north of Bogra town, was the capital of pundravardhana. During the 4th to 8th century BC this region was ruled by various dynasties. From the middle of 8th century it went under Pala rule that continued till 12th century. Sena King vijayasena conquered the region defeating the last Pala King madanpala. Bogra came under the Muslim rule after bakhtiyar khalji conquered Nadia. In 1281-1290 AD, Sultan Nasiruddin Bagra Khan, the second son of the emperor of Delhi Sultan ghiyasuddin balban became the ruler of Bengal. Bogra was named after him. The anti British Fakir-Sannyasi movement spread over Bogra region since the early British rule. The leader of the fakirs majnu shah had direct encounters with the British. The Indigo Rebellion spread over Bogra in mid 19th century.
Places to see
Kherua Mosque at Sherpur, remnants of the historical mahasthangarh, Bara Masjid, Mazar (tomb) of Shah Sultan Balkhi, Gokul Medh, Parshuram's Palace, Vasu Vihara.
Daily Karatoya, Daily Satmatha, Daily Durjoy Bangla, Daily Azad O Aagamikal, Daily Chandnibazar, Weekly Aajker Sherpur, and Pancha Nadir Teere, Weekly Natun, Durjoy Sahittya, Tarunnya; extinct or nearly extinct- Daily Uttaranchal, Daily Uttarvarta, Daily Muktabarta, Sonatola Batra and Brittya.

Facebook Big Smiley

2005 - 2017 © Amardesh Online | Privacy Policy