Amardesh Online......................

Facebook Big Smiley

Divisions: Barisal | Chittagong | Dhaka | Khulna | Rajshahi | Rangpur | Sylhet
Districts in Sylhet: Habiganj | Maulvi Bazar | Sunamganj | Sylhet

Sunamganj District Information

Area3669.58 square kilometers.
Bounded by
Khasia and Jaintia hills (India) on the north, Habiganj and Kishoreganj districts on the south, Sylhet district on the east, Netrokona and greater Mymensingh districts on the west.
Sunamganj mahakuma (sub-division) was upgraded to a district in 1984. This district consists of 10 upazilas, 4 municipalities, 36 wards, 139 mahallas, 82 union parishads, 1711 mouzas and 2813 villages.
Upazilla/ Thana
Bishwamvarpur Upazila, Chhatak Upazila, Derai Upazila, Dharmapasha Upazila, Dowarabazar Upazila, Jagannathpur Upazila, Jamalganj Upazila, Sullah Upazila, Sunamganj Sadar Upazila, Tahirpur Upazila

Post Codes for Sunamganj District

Elected MP(s) in 2008 Election
Area# Area NameElected MPFrom
224Sunamganj-1Moazzem Hossain RatonBangladesh Awami League
225Sunamganj-2Suranjit Sen GuptaBangladesh Awami League
226Sunamganj-3M. A MannanBangladesh Awami League
227Sunamganj-4Begum Momtaz IkbalJatiya Party
228Sunamganj-5Mohibur Rahman ManikBangladesh Awami League
Parliament Election Winner (Party-wise): 2001,1996,1991
Seat#Area Name200119961991
223Sunamgonj-1BNP (56.94)BAL (41.84)Other (36.91)
224Sunamgonj-2BAL (55.01)JP (48.68)Other (58.41)
225Sunamgonj-3BAL (45.81)BAL (39.67)BAL (43.78)
226Sunamgonj-4BNP (42.97)BNP (33.11)BAL (33.10)
227Sunamgonj-5BNP (54.58)BAL (28.91)JP (18.10)
BAL: Bangladesh Awami League
BNP: Bangladesh Nationalist Party
JI: Jamat E Islami
JP: Jatiya Party
Nankar Rebellion of Sukhair in 1922-23 is notable. Many political leaders and activists of Sunamganj were involved in the anti-British movement. The leftist movement spread over the district after the partition of 1947. During the war of liberation many encounters were held between the freedom fighters and the Pak army; Sunamganj was liberated on 6 December 1971.
Places to see
Bagbari Tila (Chhatak upazila), Selbarash Jami Mosque, Sukhair Kalibari Temple, Kahala Kalibari, Maheshkhala Kalibari (Dharmapasha upazila), remnants of the palace of Raja Bijoy Singh (16th century, Tahirpur upazila).
Weekly Grambanglar Katha, Weekly Shajan, Weekly Sunamganj Sangbad, Weekly Sunamganj Barta, Weekly Sunamganj, Weekly Vati Bangla, Daily Haor Barta, Weekly Aunal; periodicals-Dishari (1993), Khudrapat Rudrapran (1998), Sreetir Olinde (1998), Arunadaiy and Haorer Dheow; extinct: Surma (sixties), Suchayan, Prattayan, Sanko, Weekly Jamalganjer Dak, Weekly Jamalganj Parikkrama, Weekly Sunam, Weekly Din Jai, Weekly Sunamganjer Kagoj.

Facebook Big Smiley

2005 - 2017 © Amardesh Online | Privacy Policy